Wood Family Farm


Full Moon Feast review
April 18, 2011, 9:14 pm
Filed under: 2011, April

Just finished reading Full Moon Feast by Jessica Prentice. I found the reading entertaining and interesting. The recipes appear quite doable and tasty. I would classify this book as a companion reader to Nourishing Traditions.

One quote by the author struck home with me. “. . part of what makes cooking so fun for me is that I have the basic skills necessary to come home, look in the fridge, and cook something off the top of my head that I will find delicious and nourishing. I certainly read lots of recipes, but I very rarely (if ever) follow one exactly. It takes the creativity away.” (p. 247)

When I read this portion,  I laughed to myself. No wonder I enjoyed the book. A perfect description of my own approach to cooking!

Prentice weaves her own experiences with food and cooking, her theology and philosophy, and anthropology throughout the book. Some points you may enjoy or agree with and other portions of the book you may not. Either way, the recipes are worth trying.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

